Rather than shortening this into more than one post, I decided to put it all together. Be prepared! This has definitely been a week of memorable workouts for me, and I know it will only get better from here!
Balance
My trainer really focuses on improving my balance and
strengthening my core. Before working
with her, I would definitely call myself clumsy and say that I had no balance,
and may people would agree. I’ve spent
many workouts frustrated and wanting to cry because I have a really hard time
doing some of the balance exercises.
Monday was the best work out ever!
My trainer straight up told me I was not going to be happy with her
because of all of the balance exercises we were doing. But I truly surprised myself and left there
with a huge smile on my face! I did
squat thrusters on top of this piece of equipment used for balance and didn’t
fall off. I think she was surprised as
much as I was. I was able to do all of
my hops. With hops, I stand on one leg
and hop back and forth over a line on the ground…trying to keep my balance as
long as I can. I’m learning that if I
control my movements (my arms specifically), then my balance is much
better. No flopping my arms all over the
place! There was another balance
exercise that I’ve been showing to everyone.
I wish I could explain it on here…maybe I’ll take a picture later. Either way…if you keep working hard, you’ll
get better…so don’t give up!!
Food
I make a protein smoothie every morning for breakfast. It’s an easy way to get my calories in and
protein as well. My diet is pretty
simple – my trainer has me eating 65% carbohydrates, 20% protein and 15%
fat. It’s been an adjustment, but I
track it all in my bodybugg. That’s the
most amazing device and it has helped me so much!! Since I’ve done it for several months, I
usually am able to stay pretty close within those ranges. Sometimes my fat may be a little low, but it’s
NEVER gone over 15%. Back to the
smoothie, I usually put frozen strawberries, a banana, protein powder and
unsweetened almond milk. It’s very
delicious! Well, my trainer had her
protein smoothie at the gym on Saturday and I asked what kind it was. She had the same stuff as I did, but she had
spinach and beets in hers. My immediate
response: GROSS! But after she said you
couldn’t taste it, I decided it may be worth a try. I struggle to get enough vegetables, so why
not? She hasn’t steered me wrong yet! And guess what? I now add a handful or so of baby spinach to
my smoothie every day! It still tastes
great! You should give it a try. Everyone at work says, “GROSS!”. My new philosophy – don’t knock it til you
try it.
New Goals
I had a great workout yesterday (Wednesday) with my trainer, even though
I came in frustrated because of my day at work.
I left there in a great mood.
That’s one thing working out does for me! I forget about daily stresses because I’m
focused 100% on my training….very good for me!
We did a lot of lunges & jumps.
I did cardio afterwards, so my legs definitely felt like they were going
to fall off. My balance is still
improving and I’m not as scared to try all of the new things she asks of me! Anyways, have any of you seen Extreme Makeover
Weight Loss Edition? It’s a great
show. The trainer gives the person a
goal in each stage of the journey. If
they hit that goal, they get a prize of some sort (that he establishes ahead of
time). So my trainer decided yesterday
to do that with me. We were talking
about my weight loss the past few months and where I was at. And then we were talking about my birthday,
which is August 1st. She
decided that if I lost 12 lbs this month, she’ll take me to dinner for my
birthday (and show me how to eat out). I
know that sounds funny, but I struggle with trying to make the healthiest
choices when eating out at times.
Restaurants don’t exactly make it easy either! Anyways, I’m freaking out! I lost 9 lbs last month…and I’m not sure how
I even managed that. But at the same
time, where I would be as far as weight if I lost 12 lbs…would be simply
awesome! Plus, my trainer pointed out
that I lost 9 lbs last month and she was out of town for a week and I was sick
for a week or so and barely worked out.
Do you think it’s possible? I
will definitely keep you updated. We
will weigh in sometime at the end of the month!
I’ve got some hard work ahead of me the next several weeks! I already increased the intensity and length of
my cardio today to 90 minutes instead of 50!
I know I can do it!
5K Training
I have never been a runner.
I always admired those that could run and wished I could. But it’s not something I’ve ever worked
towards. When I started working out in
April or so, I would walk on 2.8-3.0MPH on the treadmill for 45-50
minutes. It was a challenge at
times. This week has been full of new
accomplishments. I honestly just started
running in the last several weeks. When I started,
I could run about a minute, but then I would usually give myself 4 minutes to
recover. I know it’s not much, but guess
what I can do now? Once last week and on
Tuesday, I hit the 5K setting on the treadmill and went for it. I ran 2 minutes and walked 2 minutes the
whole time. It ended in a 5K in about 46
minutes or so. I talked to my trainer
about how to increase – whether to increase the run or decrease the walk. Today, I ran 3 minutes and walked 2. I finished 5K in 44:34!! It was hard, especially after the 2 to 2.5
mile mark. I was tired, but I kept on
because I knew deep down that I could.
Every time that I would hit about 30 seconds left on the run portion, I
just continued to tell myself what my trainer told me, “You can do anything for
30 seconds.” And it’s true. And it feels so good at the end knowing that
you accomplished what you set out to do and did more than you ever thought you
could. I’m going to do the 3 minutes/2
minutes one more time and then move on to 4 minutes. I’ll be ready to run my first 5K before you
know it! You can, too! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment